

### **Hillside Federation**

May 19, 2021 7:03 pm Via video conference Minutes

#### I. Call to Order

President Charley Mims called the meeting to order at 7:03 pm.

President Charley Mims announced that per the bylaws, the executive committee recommends Robin Greenberg to be the Recording Secretary. MOTION: To approve Robin Greenberg as Recording Secretary. Motion passed.

# **Guest City Controller Ron Galperin installed officers:**

President Charley Mims
Chair Marian Dodge
Vice President Mark Stratton
Vice President Jamie Hall
Secretary Julie Kremkus
Recording Secretary Robin Greenberg
Treasurer Don Andres

**Guest: City Controller Ron Galperin** addressed City Finances and Resources in the Age of COVID-19.

Numerous reports are available online at: <a href="https://lacontroller.org/controlpanel-la/">https://lacontroller.org/controlpanel-la/</a>
To sign up for the Controller's e-newsletter, please go to <a href="https://bit.ly/CtrNewsletter">https://bit.ly/CtrNewsletter</a>

**Guest: Courtney Gross** — Director of Development at Tree People

Courtney Gross stated that the Coldwater Canyon Park is open. It was a former fire station. cgross@treepeople.org 818 623 4886

### II. Approval of minutes — Julie Kremkus

The March minutes were approved as written.

#### III. Officers' Reports

### A. President's Report - Charley Mims

President Charley Mims explained that the executive committee met and John P. Given will write a letter to Planning Director Vince Bertoni. President Charley Mims discussed receiving financial aid donations from our member groups.

### B. <u>Treasurer's Report</u> – Don Andres

There are 44 members for 2020-2021. All bills are paid. The Treasurer's Report is received and filed without objection. President Charley Mims discussed the process for vetting new members: the treasurer will meet with member associations in the Santa Monica Mountains and related hillsides, Rim of the Valley and Baldwin Hills.

#### IV. Old Business

A. Mulholland Design Review Board Memorandum

A letter will be drafted to reverse the action taken by Planning Director Vince Bertoni.

B. SB 9 and SB 10 Update

Jay Weitzler: SB 9 has gone back to committee for revision.

Charley Mims: SB 10 will come up in committee.

## **IV. New Business**

A. 8201 Bellgave Place — Ellen Evans

Carl Lisberger of Manatt Phelps Phillips stated that 8201 Bellgave is a building permit appeal.

The plans violate various zoning codes and hillside ordinance.

- 1. Maximum Floor Area Violations
- 2. Not eligible for RFA Bonus
- 3. Height Violations
- 4. Setback violations

MOTION: Hillside Federation to write a letter in opposition to the project that is currently being built. The motion passed.

B. Ridgeline Protection Ordinance — Don Loze

The Planning Department has released it for public review. It will be put into effect by Supplemental Use District

# V. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 9:08 pm Next meeting: June 15, 2021 at 7:00 pm

Robin Greenberg - Recording Secretary

# **Members**

Argyle Civic Association	Stephen	Krawchuk
Bel Air Knolls Property Owners	Linda	Rose
Bel Air Skycrest POA	Mark	Stratton
Bel-Air Association	Linda	Whitford
Bel-Air Hills Association	Robin	Greenberg
Bel-Air Hills Association	Wendy	Morris
Bel-Air Hills Association	Steve	Twining
Benedict Canyon Association	Joy	Denton
Benedict Canyon Association	Don	Loze
Benedict Canyon Association	Mindy	Mann
Benedict Canyon Association	Nickie	Miner

Benedict Canyon Association Bob Schlesinger

Brentwood Hills HOA Carolyn LoBuglio

Brentwood Residents Coalition Wendy-Sue Rosen

Cahuenga Pass POA Steven Kates

Cahuenga Pass POA Krista Michaels

Canyon Back Alliance Lois Becker

Doheny/Sunset Plaza NA Ellen Evans

Franklin Hills Residents Association Charley Mims

Franklin/Hollywood West Residents Assn Don Andres

Kagel Canyon Civic Marlene Radar

Kagel Canyon Civic Bill Slocum

Lake Hollywood Homeowners Kristina O'Neil

Laurel Canyon Association Jamie Hall

Laurel Canyon Association Cathy Wayne

Los Feliz Improvement Association Dennis Chew

Los Feliz Improvement Association Marian Dodge

Nichols Canyon NA Julie Kremkus

Residents of Beverly Glen Tensie Palmer

Save Our Canyon Sheila Wasserman

Sherman Oaks Homeowners Association Jay Weitzler

Studio City Residents Association Joann R. Deutch

The Oaks Homeowners Linda Othenin-Girard

Upper Nichols Canyon NA Joan Cashel

**Guests** 

Chair Emeritus Alan Kishbaugh

CD5 2022 Candidate Sam Yebri

Doheny/Sunset Plaza NA Andy Armstrong

Doheny/Sunset Plaza NA Victor Armstrong

Doheny/Sunset Plaza NA Carter Bravmann Doheny/Sunset Plaza NA Victor De la Cruz Doheny/Sunset Plaza NA Caroline Graham Doheny/Sunset Plaza NA Laurie Hirsch Doheny/Sunset Plaza NA (attorney) Lisberger Carl LA City Controller Galperin Ron LA City Controller Ducielle Reinita Silverlake resident Stephanie Bartron The Oaks Homeowners Gerry Hans

Courtney

Gross

TreePeople